The Black Lagoon

Your turn begins at The Black Lagoon.

Roll two dice for what you encounter at the black lagoon:


2 = A well-known creature of this black lagoon guards a strange treasure that washed ashore here. Roll a die. If the die roll is 1, 2, or 3, fight a Melee Combat with a black lagoon creature. If the die roll is 4, 5, or 6, fight a Magical Combat with a black lagoon creature. The black lagoon creature's attributes are Arms: 6, Magic: 6, Craft: 2, Vitae: 4. If you have 1 or more Allies at the start of any Combat with the black lagoon creature, roll a die. If the die roll is equal to or less than the number of Allies you have, increase the black lagoon creature's Arms and Magic by 1 for that Combat only. If you receive a Wound due to Combat with the black lagoon creature, roll a die. If the die roll is 1 or 2, lose 1 Ally. If the die roll is 5 or 6, you receive 1 additional Wound. If the black lagoon creature has fallen due to Combat with you, gain a clay jar, unless you have a clay jar. A clay jar is an Item. A clay jar does not count towards the number of Items you may have. If you have the clay jar and you are instructed to lose an Ally, except for an Ally lost due to it's own instructions, roll a die. If the die roll is less than your Craft, you do not lose the Ally; Ignore the instructions to lose the Ally. You may not use the clay jar if you have a babayaga hut.


3 = The chieftain of the blackface tribe will teach black lagoon magic to those who are brave. If you choose, roll a die. If the die roll is equal to or less than your Arms, gain turntide. Turntide is a Spell. You may only use turntide if a Melee Combat you are in is a standoff. When used, the monster in the Melee Combat with you receives 1 Wound. You may not use more than 1 turntide per Combat.


4 = A huge wave of black water rises up out of the lagoon and slams down on you. Roll two dice. If the die roll is equal to or greater than the total of your Arms plus your Vitae, receive 1 Wound. 


5 = A lobster as black as the waters of this lagoon comes crawling out from the water's edge. Fight a Melee Combat with a black lobster. The black lobster's attributes are Arms: 5, Magic: 3, Craft: 1, Vitae: 3. If you receive a Wound due to Melee Combat with the black lobster, roll a die. If the die roll is 6, receive 1 additional Wound. If the black lobster receives a Wound due to Melee Combat with you, roll two dice. If the die roll is 9 or more, the black lobster does not receive the Wound.


6 = A nearby tribe of natives have painted their faces black for hunting and fishing at this lagoon. Roll a die. If the die roll is 1, 2, 3, or 4, fight a Melee Combat with a blackface native. The blackface native's attributes are Arms: 4, Magic: 2, Craft: 2, Vitae: 2. If the die roll is 5 or 6, fight a Magical Combat with a blackface shaman. The blackface shaman's attributes are Arms: 2, Magic: 4, Craft: 2, Vitae: 2.


7 = Floating in the middle of the black waters of this lagoon is a cay upon a shark-infested coral reef. If you choose, your turn ends and the next turn will begin at The Coral Cay; Proceed to that page if so.


8 = There is an abundance of stinging sea anemones that have washed ashore at this black lagoon. Fight a Magical Combat with a sea anemone. The sea anemone's attributes are Arms: 1, Magic: 2, Craft: 1, Vitae: 1. You cannot use Items that are weapons in Combat with the sea anemone. If you receive a Wound due to Magical Combat with the sea anemone, or the sea anemone receives a Wound due to Magical Combat with you, roll a die. If the die roll is 1, you receive 1 Wound.


9 = This black lagoon is home to a large group of moray eels that use the tide to their advantage. Fight a Melee Combat with a moray eel. The moray eel's attributes are Arms: 5, Magic: 2, Craft: 2, Vitae: 3. Roll a die. If the die roll is 1, increase the moray eel's Arms by 1. If the die roll is 2, increase the moray eel's Vitae by 1. If the die roll is 6, increase the moray eel's Arms and Vitae by 1. If the moray eel receives a Wound due to Melee Combat with you, roll two dice. If the die roll is 8 or more, the moray eel does not receive the Wound. If you are in a Melee Combat that is a standoff with the moray eel, you receive 1 Wound.


10 = Although it tastes awful, the black water here can heal those hardy enough to drink it. If you have 1 or more Wounds, roll two dice. If the die roll is equal to or less than the total of your Arms plus your Vitae, heal 1 Wound. 


11 = A short black brute of an island ogre known as a laguna takes an interest in you. Roll two dice, unless you have a black laguna. If the die roll is less than the total of your Arms plus your Craft, gain a black laguna. A black laguna is an Ally. If you have the black laguna at the start of any Melee Combat on a page with the word 'Coast', 'Coastal', 'Grotto', 'Sunken', 'Kraken', 'Sea', 'Lagoon', 'Octopus', 'Coral', 'Distant', 'River', 'Lake', 'Island', or 'Isle' in it's name, you may choose to have the monster in that Melee Combat with you fight a Melee Combat with the black laguna first. The black laguna's attributes are Arms: 4, Magic: 3, Craft: 2, Vitae: 1. If the black laguna is in a Melee Combat with a monster, and that Melee Combat is a standoff, the monster receives 1 Wound. If the monster has fallen due to Combat with the black laguna, the Combat with you does not occur and you gain the Melee XP as though the monster had fallen due to Combat with you. If the black laguna has fallen due to Combat with the monster, lose the black laguna, then the Combat with you and the monster occurs, with the monster retaining any Wounds it received due to Combat with the black laguna. If neither the black laguna nor the monster has fallen due to the Combat between them, the Combat with you and the monster occurs, with the monster retaining any Wounds it received due to Combat with the black laguna.


12 = From the depths of this black lagoon emerges a gigantic moray eel intent on feeding upon you. Fight a Melee Combat with a giant moray eel. The giant moray eel's attributes are Arms: 7, Magic: 5, Craft: 3, Vitae: 5. If the giant moray eel receives a Wound due to Melee Combat with you, roll two dice. If the die roll is 8 or more, the giant moray eel does not receive the Wound. If you are in a Melee Combat that is a standoff with the giant moray eel, you receive 1 Wound. If the giant moray eel has fallen due to Combat with you, gain a black diamond, unless you have a black diamond. A black diamond is an Item. A black diamond does not count towards the number of Items you may have. If you have the black diamond at the start of any turn on a page with the word 'City' or 'Castle' in it's name, you may choose to lose the black diamond. If so, gain 4 Gold. 


Unless you rolled a 7 and went to The Coral Cay, after your black lagoon encounter ends, you must choose between staying at The Black Lagoon or going back to The Island. If you choose to stay at The Black Lagoon, your turn ends and the next turn will begin at The Black Lagoon; Stay on this page if so. If you choose to go to The Island, your turn ends and the next turn will begin on The Island; Proceed to that page if so.


The Coral Cay


The Island

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Crossroads

The Land Of Adventuria

Rules Of The Game